Banks in India are usually shut on public holidays. There are certain bank holidays that are state-specific and some where banks throughout the country are shut. All-India holidays include Republic Day (January 26), Independence Day (August 15), and Gandhi Jayanti (October 2). Festivals like Diwali, Christmas, Eidh, Guru Nanak Jayanthi, Good Friday, and so on are also bank holidays. Further, second and fourth Saturdays of the month are holidays.Date & MonthDayHoliday

January 01WednesdayNew Year’s Date

Date & MonthDayHoliday
January 01WednesdayNew Year’s Day
January 11SaturdaySecond Saturday
January 15WednesdayUttarayaana Punyakaala
Makara Sankranti Festival/Pongal/Magh Bihu and Tusu Puja
January 17FridayUzhavar Thirunal
January 18SaturdayFourth Saturday
February 08SaturdaySecond Saturday
February 22SaturdayFourth Saturday
March 14SaturdaySecond Saturday
March 28SaturdayFourth Saturday
April 01WednesdayAnnual closing of banks
April 10FridayGood Friday
April 11SaturdaySecond Saturday
April 25SaturdayFourth Saturday
May 01FridayMaharashtra Din/May Day (Labour Day)
May 09SaturdaySecond Saturday


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here